Trail Runnerella

dirty running isn't only for boys

Week 2 Part 1 September 15, 2012

Filed under: Training — Erin @ 6:58 pm
Tags: , ,

Week two started out alright.  Monday was spent at the park with my son and I ended up getting rope burn.  I had a 3 miler on Tuesday, which was pretty uneventful.  I did end up cutting it a little bit short because the 3 miles I jog goes down hill from 1.4-1.5 miles and I just didn’t feel like having to go back up that hill, so really I was at 2.8 miles. Wednesday I decided to ride my bike instead of jog.  My legs kind of hated me during that ride!  I use a lot of my lower leg running, so they’ve been sore and tired and using larger muscles to ride a bike was a nice rest for my calves.  My quads were burning once I got to 4 miles though!  I biked probably 4.5 miles and called it a day.

I was supposed to have another 3 miles on Thursday but decided to take that as my rest day instead, we were just so busy on Thursday by time I had time to go out, I was really just worn out.  I really do appreciate the fluidity of the plan I’m working with.  Friday we went out to the park again so I could take pictures and my husband could run the trail.

By time we got home from the park it was early evening (almost dinner) and my husband kind of forced me to go do my 3 miles (thank you for holding me accountable).  I had planned on using the hike along the trail as my cross training for Saturday.  Nope, my husband wouldn’t let me.  So I started off on my jog, got going and then saw a small dog running around without a person.  I looked around to see if I saw anyone trying to find him and didn’t see anyone.  I jogged a little ways down the path and saw a lady carrying a leash without a dog attached, so 2 + 2 = lost dog owner.  I helped her catch her dog and then continued on my jog.  I made it to the 1.5 mile mark this time (woo hoo) and turned around and on my way back down the hill I hear a popping noise, I kind of ignored it because I thought it was possibly my water bottle, but not soon after, my knee decides to quit supporting my body weight and I stumble.  Apparently the popping was my knee!  I walked a little ways and I felt like I had walked it out and tried jogging again.  I could take 6 steps or so before my knee starts popping and I start to limp.  It was really kind of frustrating because my legs felt tired this time, but they were feeling better than they had since I started.  Really, really frustrating.  I finally feel decent to where I think I’ll get a good run in and my knee craps out on me.  Figures.

My husband plays doctor last night and decides its runners knee and that I need to realign my knee cap.  I had a similar problem a couple years ago and had to go to physical therapy for it, so I know how to tape my knee cap back in place.  My husband went to the drug store to get some sports tape, but it doesn’t stick very well at all!  I remember it being super sticky and stiff from when I was a kid.  Oh well.  Our next idea was k-tape, but that is super expensive.  I settled on one of those knee band things that is supposed to support your knee cap.  I’ll see how it goes.

While I was getting my knee thingy at that mall, I stopped in at Bare Essentials to get some foundation and had a dude do my makeup.  I’ve never had a guy help me with makeup before, I’ve had a guy do my hair, my nails, my eyebrows, but never my makeup.  It was weird.

 

Leave a Reply

