Trail Runnerella

dirty running isn't only for boys

Race Recap, well not really…. December 5, 2012

Filed under: Training — Erin @ 6:51 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I was supposed to attempt the half marathon at the North Face Endurance Challenge in San Francisco this past weekend.  I was not ready to run a half marathon by any means, but I was fairly confident that I could power walk the course and still make the cut off.  It wouldn’t be fast, but I thought I could finish.  Not really the experience I thought would be my first half, but considering the circumstances, I was okay with it.

The half was scheduled for Sunday and my husband scheduled to run the full marathon on Saturday.  We drove to SF on Friday to get settled in and to get our race packets.  SF is a beautiful city, I’ve never been there.  I love the appeal of the city close to nature but also close to city, if that makes any sense.  I can totally picture myself living someplace like that where I can live in the city and walk or bike to where I need to go and then take public transportation to the park to run or take pictures, or what have you.

Anyway, Saturday was very miserable for me, but don’t tell my husband!  We had to catch a shuttle to go to the marathon and walk in the mud to the start line and then stand there and wait for him to finish.  Yes, thats right, WAIT in the rain, 50 degree weather with a 4 year old with no kids activities.  The no kids activities part normally wouldn’t be that bad, but it was just so wet and muddy, he couldn’t really play.  It was horrible.  My feet got wet within the first 5 minutes and they never dried… It was raining until about an hour after we got there, which was nice that it stopped, but it was still chilly.  Wet and chilly in my book are a bad combo.  The race staff did a good job of trying to make it hospitable for spectators, but it wasn’t really successful.  They had a bus for people to stay out of the weather in that left half way through the event.  We hung out there for a while and then had to stand outside and wait for my husband to cross the finish line.

Five and a half hours later…. Total, I had to spend about 8 hours outside trying to entertain a 4 year old in the rain.  Awesome.

My husband said the course was a mess, so I really struggled Sat night if I really wanted to run the race.  I was debating in my head how wet and muddy it was going to be vs. the small chance that I would actually finish the race.  The more it rained, the more the trail was getting trashed.  Plus all the runners from the day before… Also in the back of my head I knew we had to check out of our room before the race, so I’d have to ride 8 hours back home after running a mud race without showering.

Well, as I was trying to decide if I was going to go through with it, my husband saved me!  He checked Facebook and TNF had to cancel the Sunday races due to conditions.  I got so lucky! Not only did I not have to decide on which suck to embrace, but I get free entry into a race next year!  Woo Hoo!  Why can’t my luck be this good finding a job?

So overal, it was a positive weekend, minus the 8 hours in the rain and mud.  Next time, rain boots!

Then, yesterday my husband dropped a huge bomb on me.  He wants me to pace him for his first 50 miler.  He’s planning a 50k in April and a 50 miler in October.  He came at me with a high five so I gave it to him and then he drops that one me!  I mean a high five is like a hand shake, you committed.  So, now I was planning on a spring half, but I don’t know if that will fit with the marathon training I have to try to get in before October.  I’m looking into training plans… I’m open to suggestions!

Stay tuned for my new adventure of becoming a trail ultrarunner pacer!

 

One Response to “Race Recap, well not really….”

  1. Traci Says:

    I admire people who run. While I love exercise, I won’t run unless there’s someone behind me with a really large stick. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

