Trail Runnerella

dirty running isn't only for boys

Two More Runs January 27, 2013

Filed under: Training — Erin @ 5:11 am
Tags: ,

 

 

 

 

 

 

My longest run of the year so far.  I went to a flat track for my 3 mile run. My goal was to run the whole thing, minimal or no walking.   I was successful in that goal.  I had to stop to pull my shorts down a few times, for some reason they’ve been riding up on me.  I also stopped at about half a mile to stretch my left calf.  This was the first run in my new shoes and they were effecting my gait and making my left leg sore.  More on the shoes in a later post.  I am super surprised at how fast I ran that fast though.  I’ve been consistently been putting down 15 min miles (including walking breaks) so I’m surprised that cutting down on the walking made my pace THAT much faster.

20130126-211114.jpg

Short run a few days after my long run.  My pace was a lot slower, but my legs were still tired from the long run.  I was also having issues with my shoes.  I haven’t found just the right tightness to tie them yet.  On this particular route, it goes downhill at about half a mile and then I turn around at one mile and have to go back up the hill.  I wish it were the other way around, I’d rather go up hill with fresh legs, then when I’m tired, run back down.  I might have to try to find a route around here like that.

20130126-211121.jpg

Next week I’m shooting for 3 runs.  For the past 2 – 3 weeks, I’ve only managed to make myself get in two runs, so I’m going to try to up it to 3 a week for the next 2 – 3 weeks, then 4 times a week is what I think I’ll stick to.  I want my body to be comfortable with the frequency before I add more.  My goal is to slowly get used to running without hurting myself so I can eventually convince myself I’m having a good time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

